Module 2 Class1 – Art appreciation

Here are the artworks that we discussed in class today. It was interesting to go through everyone’s favourite work and study the artwork in detail with respect to composition, medium and tecnique. I dont know if my art vocabulary has improved over last time, but I am certainly excited about discovering artists I had never heard of before, such as Valentin Serov, Roy Ranson and Sorolla. Discovering Sorolla has caused quite a bit of excitement for me.. he is a Spanish Impressionist and his beautiful oils are happy pictures, full of the sun , sand and the sea. Will be reading up more about him soon.

Potato Gathering in October

Jules Bastien Lepage

Jules Bastien Lepage – Potato Gathering in October
"Mending the Sail"

Joaquin Sorolla y Bastida - Mending the Sail

The birth of Venus

William Bouguereau - The birth of Venus

Mario miranda

Mario miranda

mario miranda

Mario Miranda

Mario Miranda’s line work always fascinates me, and I can keep looking and studying details for hours together. I am bowled over by the sureness and steadiness in his lines, and I think it comes from a lot of practice and patience. He is so brilliant when it comes to using the line to manage perspectives, volume and shade!

About Sneha Prasad

Bangalorean, dreamer, illustrator.
This entry was posted in 100 Day Program and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment